The State of Jon and Kate
The new season of Jon & Kate Plus 8 just makes me sad. The overly publicized marital problems of the Gosselins has nearly torn thier marriage apart, at least that's what it seems like.I really don't care how they do it, but I really want Jon and Kate to reconcile. It's just disheartening to see them fighting. It's not fair that the paparazzi did this to them, sooner or later it could affect thier children.
While watching the new episodes, I couldn't help but notice that Kate seems to have changed drastically. She used to seem like a wonderful but stressed out mother whose world revolved around her family. She didn't care about clothes or appearances or materials but in the new episodes she seems to be somewhat of a camera hog.
She always seems to be on a book tour ("for my kids" she says) and never at home and she's all about shopping and spa-ing and tanning and whatnot, and it doesn't seem like she's thinking about Jon at all.
At the end of the premiere episode, the interviewer asked the couple what the status of the marriage was. There were a few beats of silence and then Kate spewed out something like "I'm here all the time that work allows me, I wake up for my kids, I breathe for my kids, I live for my kids."
I couldn't help but think, and I'm sure many other viewers were with me on this, "WHAT ABOUT YOUR HUSBAND?"
I really felt bad for Jon. Kate doesn't even acknowledge his existence half the time. She made him quit his job to be home more and then she trails off to do book signings in God-knows-where. I really could go on and on about Kate Gosselin but I won't.
Jon obviously hates the show. He said so in the season 4 finale, and Kate loves it. That's the problem. What do I suggest? I suggest that they look at the past episodes when they were happy. The one were they got remarried (and they said they were going to be together forever), the one with the Valetines day. Or, you know, cancel the show.
The picture on this post makes me sad again. I just hope that things work out between the young couple and they can all look back on it as just another kink in the road.
Tell me what you think.
-Jack

»Post a Comment